Resonant #1 // Review

Indie comic publisher Vault Comics has released Resonant, a post-apocalyptic story that takes place 10 years after the initial "wave." David Andry pens while Alejandro Aragon, the artist on the critically acclaimed Death Orb, works on the pen and inks. Aragon is backed by the coloring of Jason Wordie. 


Resonant centers around Paxton, a single father of 3 young children. His oldest is Rebecca, and he has two younger boys, Stef and Ty. Paxton is raising them to be tough in this new world. Lately, things have been going well, but Paxton believes life has been going a little too well. Stef is bedridden and needs his medication. He figures going to get Stef's medicine is a good excuse for a supply run. As he heads into town, another "wave" hits.  


It's not let on fully what the "wave" is, but when the "wave" hits, it is a good idea to be tied down or be away from other people. Through Paxton, Andry explains that the "wave" frequently happens with moments of relative calm in between. Paxton is the typical parent even outside of a post-apocalyptic world. He worries if he has taught his children enough to do well on their own. At the same time, he realizes that some decisions will cost a life, and he had no one else to rely on. Unfortunately, there is no build-up, and the reader is left curious. It will be interesting to see how Andry fleshes out the story through the arc.


Aragon's artwork is terrific, critical acclaim is warranted. His pencils and inks are detailed, and his style is easily recognizable. While Wordie's colors are bright, it's still evident that the story is a post-apocalyptic one. His choice of pigments are perfect. 

Resonant is gorgeous and attractive. It would stand out in any comic book shop amongst any covers made by Big-Time artists. The pacing might be slow for the average comic book reader, but it has the potential to be something that garners a decent following. Resonant is worth the risk.

Grade: B+

The Green Lantern #10 // Review

The Green Lantern #10 // Review

Black Cat #3 // Review

Black Cat #3 // Review